Plastic continued

We all have our obsessions. For Beth Terry it’s minimizing the plasticization of our world (especially the oceans). Though I’m not quite as obsessed, I try to follow most of her 100 Steps to a Plastic-Free Life. I generally draw the line at alternatives that are vastly inferior to the plastic version, but I may want to try this alternative to commercial mouth rinse, just because it looks like so much fun to make.

The U.S. government is perpetuating the plastic waste problem by disallowing all but the smallest containers of liquids and gels in carry-on luggage. While the TSA doesn’t require that one’s toiletries be in plastic bottles, that’s pretty much what everyone uses. And the airlines aren’t helping the situation: by charging so much for checked bags (solids and stripes too), they encourage people to buy more and more tiny plastic containers.

Then there are so-called “eyeglasses.” The first pair I got that was made of plastic felt ridiculously insubstantial on my face. Now I’m used to them, and you’d be hard-pressed to find plastic-free lenses, though apparently glass is making a comeback as a “luxury” item.

It’s weird how stuff that’s good for you, or for the planet, tends to cost extra. Another example: Chinese restaurants that charge extra for brown rice. Maybe if I could be put on ice for 100 years I would reawaken in a less stupid world. But I’d be more likely to find that humans had destroyed their habitat and each other, leaving the earth in the capable hands of cockroaches.

Leave a Reply

