Choose your poison

Each hour with my new therapist will cost me about $100. I can remember when $100 would buy me and a friend several hours of fun with recreational drugs. It would certainly, even now, buy me several weeks’ worth of alcohol; if I got seriously into drinking, it would still probably last me a week. So I wonder if it wouldn’t be more cost-effective to ditch the shrink and self-medicate with a ¬†perfectly legal substance that will reliably relax, entertain, and inspire me. Or maybe I could try both simultaneously, downing a few shots of gin before each session. The cost of therapy would go up, but so might the efficacy.

Leave a Reply

